Excursions & sights to see in Salzburg

Discover the loveliest part of Austria.

Salzburg has always been considered a centre of culture north of the Alps. Famous buildings such as Salzburg Cathedral date back to the seventh century AD and are considered as continuous, unique witnesses of the historic importance of the region. Wherever you walk, the influence of the Prince-Bishops dominates the famous city to this day. St. Rupert was the first bishop – he founded what is now Salzburg with the monastery of St. Peter. Spiritual as well as secular power was united in the person of the Prince-Bishop, and their influence can still be seen in the city today. Salzburg was rich in salt, which gave it its name. Many visitors from all over the world are attracted every year by the fabulous Old Town and the city’s special history.

The Old Town of Salzburg

The Old Town of Salzburg is a few minutes' walk away from the hotel. Here, you are walking in the footsteps of history.

The Old Town is divided into two districts. The older part, to the left of the Salzach River, is where the Kaiviertel, the Festungsberg and the Mönchsberg are located. This section is also the reason why the city of Mozart was made a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The Old Town on the right of the river is home to the Linzergasse, the Platzl and the Steingasse. Here, you can wander through stone-paved lanes with a medieval feel. You can almost sense the horse-drawn carriages and the free and easy life of the artists in centuries gone by. Walk along the banks of the Salzach and relax as soon as you enter the Old Town.

Festung
Hohen­salzburg

The Festung or Citadel is the largest completely preserved castle in the whole of Europe and is the symbol of the city of Salzburg. It is very obviously connected with the City of Salzburg and has never been taken by enemies. Its lucky symbol is the Salzburg Bull.

Built in the 11th century, the Festung Hohensalzburg offers a magnificent all-round view of the entire city. Apart from sightseeing on the Citadel premises, we also recommend visiting one of the many museums in the city centre. In the Citadel Museum, you can find out more about the lives of the Prince-Bishops. A guided tour of the premises provides an insight into the lives of people in Salzburg. Other attractions are the Marionette Museum and the Rainer Regimental Museum. Also let yourself be impressed and inspired by the cuisine of the restaurants.

Mozart's Birthplace

Mozart's life and work continues to leave an indelible impression on the history of music and that of Salzburg, his native city.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart is possibly the first rock star in the history of the world. His music is played all over the world, today as it was then, and is particularly celebrated in Salzburg, the city of his birth. How Amadeus lived as a child, what instrument he practised with, where his creativity came from, his genius – you can find out all about it in Mozart’s Birthplace. Without a doubt, Mozart has left his traces in Salzburg; he is present everywhere in the city. Mozart’s Birthplace is an essential place to visit for all lovers of classical music and of the famous composer.

Schloss Mirabell

Schloss Mirabell, the Mirabell Palace, and its gardens are the most beautiful places in Salzburg and perhaps the whole world.

Very impressively laid out architecturally are the Mirabell Gardens. Seen from the raised entrance, the Palace is on the left, the Citadel in the centre and the Zwergerlgarten or Dwarf Garden on the right. The palace is famous for lavish weddings in the unique Marmorhalle or Marble Hall. The beautiful background is as popular with local people as with our visitors. Formal occasions such as weddings, official receptions and also concerts take place in the Marble Hall. As the Palace is right in the centre of town, it is right on your way and well worth a visit.

Salzburg in the winter

Winter walks and outstanding cultural landmarks make even winter in the city of Mozart an unforgettable experience.

The Baroque architecture of the city has a special charm in the cold season. Take a snowy, fairy-tale stroll through the nearby city and now and then you’ll come across icicles or snowmen built by cheerful children. Many museums and photographic motifs make a winter holiday in Mozart’s city an exciting experience full of variety.

Salzburg in the summer

In summer, the whole city becomes a stage. Experience the warm summer nights in the Old Town with musical accompaniment.

Surrounded by nature and in the midst of a historic atmosphere, Salzburg offers ideal conditions for a totally relaxed summer. Discover the city on foot, by bike, or just sit down on a bench. Whether you are sightseeing or attending some of the culture and art events, the city offers all visitors a warm welcome.

Bildnachweis: Tourismus Salzburg, Unsplash

Ausflugsziele & Sehenswürdigkeiten in Salzburg

Entdecken Sie die schönste Ecke Österreichs.

Salzburg gilt seit jeher als Zentrum der Kultur nördlich der Alpen. Berühmte Bauten wie der Salzburger Dom gehen auf das siebte Jahrhundert nach Christi Geburt zurück und gelten ununterbrochen als einzigartige Zeugnisse der historischen Bedeutsamkeit in der Region. Auf welchen Spuren sie auch wandern, die Fürsterzbischöfe prägen bis heute den Ruhm der Stadt. Der heilige Rupert war der erste Fürsterzbischof, er begründete mit dem Kloster St. Peter das heutige Salzburg. Die geistliche als auch die weltliche Macht vereint in der Person des  Fürsterzbischofs prägen auch heute noch das Bild unserer Stadt. Salzburg war reich an Salz, daher der Name. Das traumhafte Ensemble der Altstadt sowie die besondere Geschichte der Stadt lockt jedes Jahr zahlreiche Besucher aus aller Welt an.

Altstadt Salzburg

Ein paar Gehminuten vom Hotel entfernt befindet sich die Salzburger Altstadt. Dort bewegen Sie sich auf geschichtsträchtigen Spuren.

Die Altstadt teilt sich in zwei Bereiche. Der ältere Teil, links der Salzach, beherbergt das Kaiviertel, den Festungsberg und den Mönchsberg. Dieser Abschnitt der Mozartstadt ist auch dafür verantwortlich, dass sie zum UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe ernannt wurde. Die rechte Altstadt ist die Heimat der Linzergasse, des Platzl und der Steingasse. Hier wandern sie auf mittelalterlich anmutenden Steinwegen. Man spürt nahezu die Pferdekutschen und das freie Leben der Künstler in vorigen Jahrhunderten. Gehen sie am Ufer der Salzach entlang und entspannen sie schon beim „Eintreten“ in die Altstadt.

Festung
Hohen­salzburg

Die Festung ist die größte, vollständig erhaltene Burg in ganz Mitteleuropa und das Wahrzeichen der Stadt Salzburg. Sie ist unübersehbar mit Salzburg Stadt verbunden und Sie wurde nie von Feinden eingenommen. Ihr Glücksbringer ist der Salzburger Stier.

Erbaut im 11. Jahrhunder bietet die Festung Hohensalzburg einen herrlichen Rundumblick über die gesamte Stadt. Neben der Besichtigung der Festungsanlage empfiehlt sich auch ein Besuch in einem der zahlreichen Museen mitten in der Stadt. Im Festungsmuseum erfahren Sie mehr über das Leben der Fürsterzbischöfe. Eine Führung durch die Anlage gibt Aufschluss über das Leben der Menschen in Salzburg. Daneben locken das Marionettenmuseum und das Rainer-Regimentsmuseum. Lassen sie sich auch von der Kulinarik der Gasthäuser überzeugen und inspirieren.

Mozarts Geburtshaus

Das Leben und Wirken Mozarts prägt die Geschichte der Musik und die seiner Heimatstadt Salzburg ungebrochen.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart ist vielleicht der erste Rockstar der Weltgeschichte. Seine Musik wird auf der ganzen Welt heute wie damals gespielt und in Salzburg als die Geburtsstadt besonders gefeiert. Wie hat Amadeus früher als Kind gewohnt, mit welchem Instrument hat er geübt, wo entstand seine Kreativität, sein Genie. All das erfahren sie im Mozarts Geburtshaus. Ohne Zweifel hat Mozart in Salzburg seine Spuren hinterlassen, hier in der Stadt ist er überall präsent. Mozarts Geburtshaus ist ein Pflichtbesuch für alle Liebhaber klassischer Musik und des berühmten Komponisten.

Schloss Mirabell

Das Schloss Mirabell und der angrenzende Garten gehören zu den schönsten Orten in Salzburg und der ganzen Welt.

Architektonisch sehr besonders angelegt ist der Mirabellgarten. Vom erhöhten Eingang aus betrachtet liegt links das Schloss, in der Mitte die Festung und rechts der Zwergerlgarten. Das Schloss ist bekannt für große Hochzeiten im einzigartigen Marmorsaal. Die schöne Kulisse wird von der Bevölkerung genauso geschätzt wie von unseren Besuchern. Im Marmorsaal finden festliche Anlässe wie Trauungen und offizielle Empfänge sowie auch Konzerte statt. Da sich das Schloss mitten in der Stadt befindet, liegt es auf dem Weg und ist einen Besuch wert.

Salzburg im Winter

Winterliche Spaziergänge und herausragende Kulturdenkmäler machen auch den Winter in der Mozartstadt zu einem unvergesslichen Erlebnis.

Die barocke Architektur der Stadt hat ihren einen besonderen Charme in der kalten Jahreszeit. Verschneit und märchenhaft spazieren sie in die nahegelegene Stadt und ab und zu begegnen ihnen ein paar Eiszapfen und von fröhlichen Kindern gebaute Schneemänner. Zahlreiche Museen und Fotomotive machen den Winterurlaub in der Mozartstadt spannend und abwechslungsreich.

Salzburg im sommer

Im Sommer wird die ganze Stadt zur Bühne. Erleben Sie die lauen Sommernächte in der Altstadt mit musikalischen Klängen.

Umgeben von grüner Natur und inmitten der historischen Atmosphäre bietet Salzburg ideale Bedingungen für einen ganz entspannten Sommer. Entdecken Sie die Stadt zu Fuß, mit dem Rad oder lassen Sie sich einfach auf einer Bank nieder. Ob zum Sightseeing oder anlässlich der zahlreichen Kultur- und Kunstevents, die Stadt bietet allen Besuchern einen herzlichen Empfang.

Bildnachweis: Tourismus Salzburg, Unsplash